The Emily Dickinson exhibition was extremely well thought out and I believe that it really captured the feel of who she was and the type of writing she writes. You enter the museum and it very sunny and welcoming. I entered an elevator that was made of glass and the light shined into the elevator and it was a very cheery environment. It was unlike any museum/library and elevator I have ever been in. The Emily Exhibition seemed to be packed with other viewers. Most of the other museumgoers were older. The colors of the wall were a very beautiful soft green. The green was not too bright or neon and it was not too dark. It was a beautiful shade of green, along with a very large portrait of Emily Dickinson in her childhood. Around the portrait are very large pink flowers. The flower wallpaper mimicked the rose in the portrait. The thing I really enjoyed about the exhibition was the fluidity. It started off with her childhood and ended with her death. I really liked how each section was labeled as well. The message that I got from the show is gentle and peaceful. From the exhibition I understood that Emily Dickinson must have been a simple and gentle person, hidden with many secrets and thoughts. I really liked the fact that is was organized in time periods because many times museums are confusing and things are out of order. The order and organization helped viewers kind of live life with Emily Dickinson. We started off from her birth and ended at the end of her life, it was as if we looked into each part of her life and understood her motives. Each section got the viewers ready for the section that was about to come next. I really thought it was amazing how they had real artifacts from her life. The yearbook with all of the students names was authentic and that was very impressive. I graduated high school only 4 years ago and I already lost my yearbook. I think that the curators of the exhibit had to do a lot of research because my question is why did they leave the yearbook open at the specific page it was open at? The one thing that confused me was the gun in the exhibit. The tour guide didn’t really explain why exactly the gun was there, or at least I don’t remember her explaining it. The gun was in the civil war section, which was the time period that Emily Dickinson wrote the most poetry. In my opinion the gun really made no impact on the way I perceived the exhibit, meaning my experience would have been the same without the gun in the room. I really thought it was interesting to see the poem that we read in class. We read the poem in class however the poem we read had one word that was different from the one that was on the wall. The word on the wall was banish and the word that we read in class was advertise. The tourguide did mention that the word was interchangeable but it was interesting to see this difference. Those people that did not read that specific poem would have gone to the museum and read the poem with the word that was written on the wall. They would not have known about the other word that we read in class. I really liked the fact that they had her real poems on the wall. I tried reading her words but it was difficult to read because of the script. The script was small and clustered together. But it’s amazing to see the preservation of her letters. The wallpaper that introduced viewers was used on the walls in the middle of the room. The same wallpaper was on the sides and the back of the same wall. I really liked the fact that they added Emily Dickinson’s friends and acquaintances in the exhibition as well. It breaks the notion and idea that Emily Dickinson was a recluse. Viewers of the exhibition will understand that Emily Dickinson was a really and sociable person. I think that’s the great thing about exhibitions like these, it starts to break misconceptions and allows us to take an indepth look at a topic that we may not really give much thought to. I really enjoyed this exhibition because I have grown up reading Emily Dickinson poetry and we learned about her early in my educational career. This exhibition really gave me a closer look on what her life was actually like.

