When I think of “The Arts,” I think of highly regarded art forms, such as painting, photography, theater, etc. In actuality, “the arts” is inclusive to all kinds of expression: visual, performing, literary, audio, the list goes on. I’ve always been a fan of the arts, though I’ll admit my interest grew as I got older. I participated in an acting, singing, and dancing program for two years in high school called The Possibility Project. This program was unique in that my cast and I wrote the script and the music based on our life stories. I made friends with lots of artists and started attending their shows, and exhibits that interested them. I started forming my own opinions, tastes, preferences. When it came time to create art in high school classes, I worked off of my photography. Digital photography has been a hobby of mine for the past seven years or so. When I started painting, it was because I loved the visual aspects of one of my photographs. The color was striking, the shadows were so intriguing that I couldn’t leave it alone. I began experimenting with watercolor and acrylic paint. I started making collages out of my photos, digitally and physically. By the time college rolled around, I was invested. I took a drawing class, one that focused on sculpture, and finally a film photography course. Black and white film photography and physically creating my photos in the darkroom is what called to me. It’s the art form I love most to this day. I am now also beginning oil painting which is something I’m excited about. Overall, visual arts interest me the most, but I have a great appreciation for all art forms. I want to develop my relationship with art throughout my college career and the rest of my life.

When assigned to walk around Hunter’s Thomas Hunter building to find art, I stumbled across meeting rooms full of artists, and staircases painted in inspiring words and visuals. I then found an actual display space on the bottom floor next to the ceramics studio. A few of the sculptures students had made were on display on a white case with specialized lighting. This represents a visual art space for these students. I wonder who chose the particular sculptures on display, the students or professors? I wonder whether they are changed frequently. I wonder if the students feel proud of their work, or if other students felt disappointed that their work didn’t get chosen. It is interesting, however, to bump into a museum-like space in the hallways of Hunter. They’re expressing the idea of “high art” as in what you would see in a museum, and artistic praise through this space.

