• The arts are a foundation for my life and personality. I have been involved in various forms for as long as I can remember and have never had a part of my life during which art didn’t influence me somehow, even if I was not directly involved in any endeavors at the moment. As a kid, I attended many orchestral and other live music performances. When I was seven years old, I witnessed my first classical piano concert. It was the first time I had seen only one instrument featured in a performance, and was immediately intrigued by the beauty and grandiosity of the instrument. A few months later, I began to take piano lessons once a week, which continued until I graduated from high school. Dance has also been a major component of my life. I started at a local studio at the age of 9 and went on to graduate from a performing arts high school. After a two year break, I am now taking dance classes again at Hunter. Although I don’t plan on pursuing a career in the arts, piano and especially dance fill a void that no other hobbies or activities have been able to fulfill. As a quieter person, the arts have been a way for me to express myself in a safe and nurturing environment. Whether I am in a large concert hall watching a performance, or a small, dingy studio, I feel most at home around the arts.

The art piece I found was a mural titled Inside on the 6th floor of the West building. It was created by Rowan St. Clair, a Muse Scholar and current Hunter student. It was created with zero-emissions paint, which might cite the artist’s concern about climate change. Murals are a public form of expression, often meant to draw attention to a space that was previously neglected. Although this piece is black and grey, its dancing, curvy shapes provide great contrast to the blank spaces surrounding it.

